Mixed Media Learning Curve

I have been avoiding to create invitations for a long time on Zazzle. There have been two reasons for that:

  1. I was not sure whether I would find the proper words.
  2. The design of an invitation is – at least for me – a whole lot more difficult than just putting a vector drawing or painting on a mug, keychain or sticker. You’ve got to create the background, arrange words and images, find the fitting fonts and the appropriate sizes for the wording.
But although I am a fearful person I am also one who likes to try out new things. So I created the invitation below. The ghost I had created a year ago or so (and  I even knew where to find it!), but there were no towers. So – for the first time of my photoshopping career – I used a photo of mine, copied one tower, pasted it into the image file and then – spent a lot of time transforming it into something a ghost would live in. And it took a lot of time arranging the images, trying out certains fonts and sizes until I had the feeling that I could post the invitation for sale without too much of a bad conscience.
Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

