Creating an abstract Design

I did that on Wednesday evening in Inkscape. First I had an idea about the colours – I wanted to have a go at the colour red. So I went to colourlovers.com and created a palette. I wanted to create something Indian Summer like, warm and full of life.

When I got the palette I downloaded it and began to play around in Inkscape. I selected the star shape and created stars in various sizes, colours, arranged them this way and that way. In the middle of the whole process I got frustrated and deleted some stars, but I didn’t want to give up. I then tried out the pencil tool and created those yellow ribbons, put them on that star, changed their direction. It took me about 1 1/2 hour to create the design as you can see it above, and even after that time I had to force myself to let it be.

The funny thing is that in traditional art I focus on drawing, not on painting. But with digital art offering the opportunity to work on a piece until you think it is presentable I feel a certain love for colours now!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

