A Painting and the Thoughts Behind it

Carina is one of my closest friends; she plays the flute in an Irish Folk band, she is an amazing photographer and she paints. She paints with markers on wood in a very special style.

Since more than one week she’s been presenting her art on posters on Zazzle for everybody to see. Every painting has got a story, and this one has got one too:

“At the beginning of the year it was clear that I would lose somebody who had been very close to me. He was my closest friend’s father and somebody who had accompanied me my whole life. I was very sad to lose him.
But has a person really disappeared once and for all when he’s gone some day? When he’s gone his body won’t be here in the form we know. But all the things which made him the person he was – his thoughts, his views, his love and his soul are still living in us and they continue to exist in another way. His life energy – the rainbow – is drifting away from us, from the earth we live on, to dissove itself in space and to be with us again. Nothing of it gets lost. I wanted to realize that thought in my painting, as a kind of comfort and support for my friend and me. The painting is now hanging in my friend’s living room and I hope that it will provide a source of strenght and comfort to her, whenever she’s in need of it.”

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

