Teaching how to Zazzle

One of my closest friends here in Berlin is an artist and a photographer. I’ve been telling her about my Zazzle adventures for a long time, and now she’s decided to open her own store. Yesterday we met and I helped her to get her shop online and to create some products.

She told me later on the phone that it had been a fascinating time for her, and that she had enjoyed it very much. For me it had been the same, but for different reasons:

  • I like to teach. When I say “teach” I mean it in the sense of helping someone else to discover new things, to transfer my knowledge to another person.
  • When you teach someone something you have to be very clear about the process itself. Many steps that are required to put a design on a certain object I do quite automatically in the meantime; but when you teach you’ve got to have not only in mind the single steps, but how they follow another and why.
  • By teaching my friend how to zazzle I noticed how much I’ve already learnt in the process. I’ve picked up something here and something there, have gone to the forums, have read tutorials. I’ve collected a lot of knowledge, but until yesterday, when I tried to help my friend with her shop, I was not aware of how much I know. Now I know – which does not exclude the fact that there are a lot of people outside who know far more than I do!
  • Yesterday we decided that it would be good to have a manual in the German language, with some screen shots and the single steps which are necessary to open a store, to make it stand out, to prepare the designs and to create the various products. That’s a challenge which I like, and I think it will be the main project for the rest of my summer vacation!
Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

