Dragonhead – finished


This is the final version of the dragonhead. As you can see I added the scales, using gradients in Inkscape. The majority of the gradients are reddish, but I also used colours which tend to look golden in order to make the dragon look like something special (the king of dragons?).

I also changed the way the tongue is looking. It now looks as a flame coming out of his mouth.

It is fascinating how much you can change in a vector piece. I saved all my version with their own file titles, so whenever I want to come back to one and work on it once more I can do that easily. Looking back at my vector activities so far I notice that I have to balance between two extremes:

  1. Wanting to get it done quick, because I want to see if I can do it “that way”. This may be acceptable whenever I don’t want to submit the piece or use it as a design for Zazzle, because doing vectors the quick way seduces me to work sloppily and to oversee nasty mistakes. When you’re doing vector work you have to be patient and to be ready to invest a lot of time for one single piece. On Deviantart people often comment on the time they’ve spent on their pieces, and more than once I found it a very long time!
  2. Trying to be perfect. That’s the other extreme. As I said before you can always change things in Digital Art. In traditional art you would come to a point where you would destroy the painting or the canvas – in digital art you can work endlessly on one piece.
Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

