My first hangout at Google+

I joined Google+ some days ago and yesterday I had my first hangout. It was organised by Debbie Ohi, the blogger at inkygirl.com, and it was a hangout for all those who’ve never been before to a hangout (what’s the verb for that – who’d never hung out?).

It was a fascinating experience. Meanwhile I am used to skype, and I love it, but a hangout with 17 people is a bit different. Debbie was explaining the hangout screen to us, so she was speaking most of the time, and we others listened. But then she asked us to to ask her questions, and the situation reminded me of a classroom full with eager, “teacher, can you tell me” children, speaking all at the same time. So hangouts where you engage in a meaningful discussion would need some structure and discipline.

Actually seeing faces from all over the world is the part which fascinates me most. Of course the variety of dialects and accents is a challenge for a person who learnt English at school as a second language. Some participants spoke very fast so that I could not get very word they said. But in the case of circles meeting regularly I think I would adapt. (or ask to speak slower). Or I could hold a white paper in front of the camera with “Please speak more slowly”…

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

