How the Internet helps me to grow

There are hundreds of blog posts telling you how to use social media and the internet in general for marketing yourself. No, I won’t add to that number with my post here. But I want to share two personal experiences which show how the interwebs helped me to grow.

  1. Skype. Every Sunday at 1pm Berlin time (that is 7am Michigan time) I meet with my dear friend Karen, and we talk to each other via video chat for at least 1 and 1/2 hour. I see her sitting at her computer, holding her cup of coffee in her hand while she sees me drinking a glass of water or some kind of lemonade. It is not only that my understanding of English and the capability to speak it rather fluently has become much better. We are also sharing each other’s culture – me holding a packet of German sweets or other German food in the eye of the camera, she showing me some hand lotion (which actually is also sold in Germany). The distance in miles between us is huge, but the distance between us two people is getting smaller every Sunday.
  2. Facebook. Facebook offers the possibility to found groups, and I am the proud member of a group called “Zazzle family”. Up to now there are only women in this group, and this may be the reason that the atmosphere in this group is friendly, encouraging and full of respect. Okay you might think, that’s nice, but nothing new. There are other places like this on the web. But there’s something to this group which makes it worth mentioning and praising: As you as regular readers of this blog might know I’ve got a shop on Zazzle. I’ve got my range of products with which I felt quite secure. There’s been one thing I’ve never done up to the present day: invitations. We in Germany don’t have that “invitation card industry” , and so I felt unable to create those kind of cards. However, today I took my heart into my hands and did my first one. There it was, and I did not know whether I had done it properly. So I posted it in “Zazzle family” asking for helpful advices.
    And they came! And a lot of encouragement, too, coming from people I’d never met in person, from all over the globe. What a wonderful experience! I am now ready to move on to more invitation cards and maybe try other things as well.
So whenever somebody talks about the internet mentioning the dangers of it and the way it makes people lonesome and unable to socialize I reply with those two experiences. It is not either bad or good, it is definitely both, and to me it has been a blessing.
Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

