Brown Bear – Vector painting

Bear - vector painting

Bear - vector painting. July 2011 Ulla Hennig

I did a pencil drawing of a brown bear quite some time ago (10 years? 15 years?). I scanned the drawing a few months ago, used it for a blog post or a squidoo lens about my art and left it untouched somewhere deep down between my images files.

Then one week or so ago I thought it could be used for Zazzle designs. I imported it into my vector software – Inkscape – and produced a bear silhouette. I was quite satisfied with the result, and did not think of the scanned bear drawing again. Until Sunday. On Saturday I had watched parts of a livestream demonstration of somebody vectorizing a cute teddy bear. I don’t know how it is with you, but when I watch such videos there’s always the point when I say to myself: “Let’s try it yourself. Enough watching – off to practice!”

On Sunday I imported the bear scan again and began to work on it. In the beginning I kept the reference drawing on one layer and the vector painting on the second layer with transparency on so that I could always have a look at the drawing. But then I noticed that the aim could not be to produce a 1:1 vector copy of the original drawing but to create a vector drawing which caught the essence of the animal.

I used the blur on certain parts of the shades, but not on all of them. I am still not decided whether to use blurs at all. I am also still undecided whether to paint more actual single hairs (like the ones on the right forefoot). Hmm, have to think about that.

And one important thing (at least for me) in the end: Good old drawing is an essential thing for digital Art!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Brown Bear II « Ulla Hennig's Weblog - July 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

