Women Soccer World Championship

It is Soccer World Championship time! Well, it is Women Soccer World Championship time. When we had Men  Soccer World Championship last year in South Africa all the restaurants in Berlin were showing the games on public tv, and the people were waving black-red-yellow (golden) flags, and wore t-shirts with black-red-yellow stripes.

None of that yet. Ok, the soccer stadiums are nicely filled with people, but you could still get tickets. The games are on German TV (in the early afternoon and at 6pm local time), but I’ve got the feeling that the numbers of people who watch the games on tv are – limited. Many people, especially men,  don’t consider women soccer to be “proper” soccer.

I just watched the game Brazil vs Australia. Brazil won 1:0, but the Australian women did a good job. It was a game worth watching. But: It was a typical women soccer match.
Men soccer is something different, with more close fights, more body contacts, more tackling. I think the important thing is not to expect women to play soccer like men, which does not mean that women soccer is “bad” soccer. The way in which both – the Australian and the Brazilian women treated the ball was amazing, as well as the way they passed it.

I now look forward to the match between Germany and Nigeria on Thursday evening European time. I will watch it at some good friend’s home. I will use public transport on the way to my friend and on the way back, and I wonder whether there will be people waving flags and wearing t-shirts in the colours of Germany. Let’s see…

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Women Soccer World Championship”

  1. Toby Davis says :

    It’s so true. There’s such a big difference between the attention male sport gets to female. Even with Tennis, where the difference is smaller, you still see people taking the mens’ game much more seriously.

    As for motor racing (my fav sport), it’s soooo sexist – really annoys me! Pitlane Girls – stupid outdated concept!

    Toby.
    http://bit.ly/langemp

  2. Christoph says :

    More than16 million people watched the match Germany – Japan. That’s not too bad, although a quarter-final match with the German men would have been watched by estimated 26 million people.
    But I liked watching the Championship, although the German team left too early.

Leave a Reply

