Why it is important to remember first attempts

This witch was one of my first attempts with the vector programme Inkscape. I’d just began to explore it, and knew very little of it at that time, in July 2010.

The witch with the funny broom

Witch, done with Inkscape in July 2010

Witch, June 2011

Witch, June 2011

I am terribly bad in parting with things – be it “real” things like books, old photos and drawings or – in this case – old files. Yesterday I decided to open the image you can see above. I suddenly realized my learning curve from July 2010 to the end of June 2011 when I created a second version of the little witch. The difference between those two witches might be hard to recognize for somebody from outside, but I know them very well!

I am still not as familiar with Inkscape than I am with Photoshop, but looking at my very first attempts and working now with them taught we an important lesson: Keep those files because they remind you of how much you’ve learnt in the meantime!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

