Blog and Website – how do they go together?

Sometimes you make a decision and think afterwards. Sometimes then you realize your decision was wrong, but sometimes – or more than sometimes – you realize that your decision was right.

I told you in one of my last blog posts that I put up a new website (http://ullahennig-art-and-photos.weebly.com/). I must admit that in the beginning of that undertaking I was eager to play around with the various templates weebly offers.I didn’t have a plan in my mind. But the more I worked on that website the more a certain plan was emerging in my mind.

For a certain time now creative activities have become central for me, and I tried to present myself on the blog as a creative person. But creativity means many things to me – photography, graphic design, having a small business (yep, I am courageous enough to define my zazzle shop as a small business!), digital painting, drawing with pencil and ink, painting with copics.During the last month I’ve desperately tried to keep a balance on the blog, to show photos on one day, graphic design on the other, and a sketch on the third day. Which meant putting up an editorial plan and sticking to it.

Well, many blog posts are singing the praise of editorial plans, and I guess the majoritiy of you, dear readers with a blog of your own, have one and stick to it. I for my person (and this is very personal) have to say: editorial plans are not made for me. I had some lovely photos on my camera and uploaded them to Flickr. They inspired me to write a blogpost, I wanted to show them. The editorial plan said: wait till next week (or to the end of the week – I think you know what I mean). But the coming blogpost was meant to be a graphic design one, because I am not only a photographer, I’m also a graphic designer.

And here the new website comes in. In the meantime I put up a page for photos, a page for showing zazzle products, and two other pages will follow – one for showing my art, and one for showing some of my squidoo lenses. So whenever I want to show someone what kind of creative person I am I can point them to my website. And my resume my spontaneous, unplanned blogging life: three times a week, and you’ll never know what’s coming next!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Blog and Website – how do they go together?”

  1. Sara says :

    You sound like me Ulla. I have so many interests and usually just want to share as the inspiration comes – I see the value of an editorial schedule but I also see the need for spontaneous creative posts. For me, I would like to plan what I write but leave room for my creative side. I think having your website will benefit you and your readers.

Leave a Reply

