Easter Rabbits and Eggs

Vector Rabbit (Inkscape)

Vector Rabbit, created in Inkscape

I am still experimenting with Inkscape, the free alternative to Adobe Illustrator. One thing I learnt so far: Think in simple objects if you want to design a cartoon character. The rabbit above was created with circles and ellipses and then given a nice gradient brown.

The advantage of vector files is, that you can transform them without data loss: You can scale them, downsize or enlarge them in Photoshop.

In the example below I duplicated the brown rabbit, added a nice set of colourful Easter eggs and then put on the words in a suitable font. I added a style to the layer with the words on it, too. I didn’t chose a background, though, because I wanted to offer the opportunity to possible customers to select their own background.on Zazzle.

An alternative to this would be to provide a gradient background and to do the card without any words. That would make it possible for people interested in the card to add their own words, provided I would give them the opportunity to do so by inserting a textfield while creating the product online on the Zazzle platform.

Having created a rabbit in Inkscape gives me the opportunity to use the design on cards like this one, stickers, mugs or ornaments. I can combine rabbit(s) and eggs, or just take the rabbit as a cute cartoon on a t-shirt for toddlers for example.

Off I go now – Photoshop here I come!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

