Looking ahead to April

In my last February post “Looking ahead to March” I wrote about my art plans saying  that I wanted to do some horse drawings, get used to my graphic tablet and finish the digital painting of a crane. Now, at the end of this month I’ve got to say:

  • I did some horse sketches, and I showed them on this blog. One you can see here, and another one here.
  • Regarding the graphic tablet: Well, I got more practice on it, but still there’s nothing yet worth presenting to the public.
  • The digital painting of the crane is still unfinished.

But I learnt a lot this month:

  • I learnt how satisfying it can be when you return to something you did a few months ago and enjoy doing it again. I loved to pick up my copics again and colour the horse. I so loved it that I consider doing the crane with them first (The only thing is that I’ve got no grey copics, and I do need grey for the crane!)
  • I learnt also how satisfying it can be to put the focus on another software – in this case Inkscape. At the bottom of the post you will find a result of playing around for half an hour with the programme without thinking about the result. It just happened to be.

So what about April?

Maybe a bit less planning and more “do as you feel” art? More playfulness? I wanted to focus on planning my art activities because I thought that I had to organize my learning processes. A revolutionary thought now comes to my mind: Even if I don*t organize or plan my art activities they wll happen. Art and creativity are an important part of my life now. The important thing is not to ask “What do I have to do in order to learn this or that?” but to ask “What did I learn when I did that and that?”

I would be glad to hear your opinion on this!


Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Looking ahead to April”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    Your sentence about planning your art activities made me smile, Ulla – I think you’ll find that your Muses have all the best plans and will object to you trying to over-ride them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

