First ever framed painting

Seagulls - painted and then photographed

Seagulls - painted and then photographed

This is my first painting that was framed and went to another person’s home. It was a present to my cousin who got 70 this February. She had visited me in 2010 and seen it hanging on my wall, of course without frame. I’d always thought that the pastel painting was not too bad, but not good enough to be framed.

Now it hangs on the wall in my cousin’s living room, properly framed: It may sound strange, but now I finally accept it as a piece of art, and I am quite proud of it. Which makes me think about how much I depend on my works being appreciated by other people in order to accept them as pieces of art. Strange, isn’t it?

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “First ever framed painting”

  1. Joanna Paterson says :

    It’s not at all strange Ulla, sometimes that’s the only time we can really ‘see’ our work. It happens to me all the time too.

    That’s brilliant that the picture is framed and hanging. It’s wonderful to watch your journey to being an artist.

  2. Judy Adamson says :

    I don’t think it’s at all strange at the moment, Ulla, but one day soon, I’m sure you’ll begin to realise that it no longer matters what other people think about your work, though of course you’ll always get pleasure from other people’s enjoyment of it!

Leave a Reply

