Horse coloured with Copics

Grazing horse

Grazing horse. Graphit, ink and then copic markers

I had bought some Copic Markers last year in autumn, and on last Friday I took them out of their box in order to colour this horse sketch. I think I now know what I will use them for – colouring my sketches. Mostly they are used by fasion designers and Manga artists, but I am neither the one nor the other.

Copic markers come in more than 200 colours. There are many colours I don’t need at the moment, but it looks like I will need more shades of brown for doing animal sketches. So I grabbed my colour chart and made a list of the markers I may need. The good thing is that you can keep them in the container for a long time without risking to dry them out.

I am still doing exercises with my graphic tablet, though. I even managed to produce a very rough drawing of a wildebeest. I am giving myself time to learn and to practise and to – delete. And I’ve learned another important thing – it is not either – or: either drawing with pencil and ink, and colouring with copics or watercolour pencils or drawing on my graphic tablet. Creativity for me is all kinds of everything – doing one thing without neglecting or stopping the other!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Horse coloured with Copics”

  1. Mariana says :

    Beautifully done, Ulla. I love the shape and lines. I’m using markers a lot too lately for my smaller drawings, they are fun to use and you’re right, creativity isn’t limited to one medium and exploring them all is a joy.

  2. Terry Heath says :

    I like your point about either and or. I tend to immerse myself in one creative venue and exclude the others. I also tend to be a purist and shy away from mixing mediums. As a child I would only eat the food on my plate one thing at a time. I grew out of that; a little corn tastes great mixed into the mashed potatoes. The word “and” is sometimes a better word than “or.”

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Looking ahead to April « Ulla Hennig's Weblog - March 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

