Part of my workplace

Workplace for Drawing and Painting

Today, on my way home, I went into my favorite paper and writing stuff shop and asked for some cardboard. I was thinking of using my copic markers again and didn’t want the color to bleed through the paper onto the table.

When the guy from the store showed me the cardboard (actually it was the lid of a paperboard container) and I explained to him what I wanted it to use for, he asked if he should cut it in a slanting way. At that moment the image of a very special easel came to my mind, and I said yes.

When I arrived home I had to try it out. As you can see above I put the cardboard on the table in my living room, fetched a paper from my sketch pad and a reference photo and began to sketch. I did it sitting down and standing up, and I noticed how much easier it was to stand back and have a look at the reference photo and my sketch. It looks like I did the right thing!

By the way: With the graphic tablet it is a bit similar. In the beginning I had it on the left side of my notebook which made me stretch out my left arm. Now I put it in front of my laptop and voilĂ  – it gives me the feeling of having much more control!

So this is another important thing I learnt: You’ve got to have the tools, and you’ve got to work with them in the proper position. Not a revolutionary insight, I know, but an important one for me.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

