My inner artist and my inner designer

First of all, the difference between my inner artist and my inner designer is, that my inner designer thinks of certain products to put her art on, and my inner artist is not thinking of any products when she is doing art. I don’t know whether this is the proper definition, but it is my definition.

In the past either the inner designer existed or the inner artist.

There has been a time when my inner designer was very active, and then suddenly my inner artist woke up and pushed the designer away. She pushed her away because she felt limited in her art if she always had to think of the final product. She wanted to try out things, to draw sketches. She discovered digital painting, loved it but at the same time knew that it would take a long time before she could think of using the results of her learning processes for creating any designs.

At the moment I am writing these lines the designer has come back. She came back because the artist is struggling with her new tool, the graphic tablet. Or, to say it more precisely: The inner artist is rather desperate and thinks she’ll never learn to cope with the darned thing. So she was on the way to retire. The designer smiles. She’s discovered a way to create nice designs with photoshop, and it is wonderful to do things when you’ve got the feeling that you can do it.

And there’s an inner me who’s watching all this, and trying to sort things out. “You are putting yourself under too much pressure,” she says to the inner artist. “You wanted to do something which you could show in your blog post, instead of giving yourself the necessary time to get used to the tablet. You can do exercises with the brush and the colours and whatever, and you don’t have to show them to the public. Take it easy, man.”

And then the inner me turns around to the designer and says: “There’s nothing bad in doing the things you are capable to do. As long as you don’t get bored and still have fun – why not do it in an easy way?”

The inner designer and the inner artist look at each other. They now know that they can exist at the same time, in peace.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “My inner artist and my inner designer”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    “The inner designer and the inner artist look at each other. They now know that they can exist at the same time, in peace.”

    I’m sure others could have told you that but you needed to discover it for yourself!

    Congratulations, Ulla!

Leave a Reply

