One Year of Zazzling

It was March 2011 when I began to really create items for my Zazzle store. I can remember how I had to take my heart into my hands and jump – fighting against my inner critic who was telling me that my creations were far from being good enough to be presented to the world.
Well, one year later my inner critic is still grumbling and mumbling, especially when I try out new things like this bookplate.
For the first time I downloaded the guide file and directly worked on that, and I worked on it for the first time with the pen of my graphic tablet. All the other times I opened up a new file in Photoshop which I thought was big enough to cover the mugs, stickers, cards and whatever. Now I know that working with the guide files enables me much more to fit the design to the object in mind – this time a sticker which can be easily used as a bookplate.
I even can imagine myself to try to design a binder, doing it with the guide file. I myself love pretty binders (and I hate the ones we have in the office – just those plain white and black Leitz binders), so I think it could be really fun to have a go with them. So, off to new adventures then!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “One Year of Zazzling”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    I haven’t tried the guide files yet – but I don’t suppose I could use them with handpainted designs, could I?

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      I haven’t tried that out yet, but you can of course. I think it may give you much more control about the placement of the motif. You would open your scanned handpainting and your guide file, and you can now drag or copy your file with the scan on it onto the guide file. You now know how it will look on the card, mousepad, mug or whatever, and you can scale your handpainting, or select a certain part of it and so on.

Leave a Reply

