Looking ahead to March

February is slowly coming to an end, and for me it is time to review the month and look forward to March.

In February I focussed on further experiments with digital painting and Photoshop. I found out more about the brushes and how to customize them, though I must say that there is a difference between having a certain knowledge and being able to apply the knowledge in a satisfying manner! I need much more practice on that field.

I also tried a graphic tablet for the first time, desperately trying to draw the most simple things. A friend of mine in the design business declared that he gave up working with a graphic tablet after noticing that he was quicker with the mouse and that he didn’t have the time to spend a whole day learning to work with the darned thing. I stubbornly decided not to give up. But I am far from being able to present anything presentable yet.

I have neglected doing my daily sketches. I had planned to do the sketches at home and then have them scanned, and then use them for blog posts. But I got carried away by Photoshop…

So here are my art plans for March:

  1. More sketches. I’ve got a book from the library about how to draw horses, and in addition to that I’ve got a weekly postcard calender with a lot of horse photographies. So March will be the month of the horses, and you will definitely see some of them on this blog.
  2. The Graphic tablet. I hope to be able to provide some results at the end of March.
  3. Finish the digital painting of a crane (By the way, with digital painting I am very much tempted to work on more than one project at the time, and I find it quite a challenge to get one finished!) I hope you will see the crane in March on this blog.

This will be the last blog post in February. I’ll be away visiting my family in the south of Germany and come back on the 28th. The next post here will be published on 2 March 2011.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Looking ahead to March”

  1. Jess says :

    I’m looking forward to the horse pictures; horses are one of my favorite animals. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear back from you in March! 🙂

  2. Judy Adamson says :

    I’m looking forward to seeing your horses too! I find them quite difficult to draw – possibly because, with their big teeth and hooves, they are not my favourite animal!

  3. Mariana says :

    Don’t give up on the tablet! I’ve been working on a Wacom for a few years now and I can’t live without it, just keep practicing and soon it will become an extension of your arm, it’s brilliant. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your sketches too 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Looking ahead to April « Ulla Hennig's Weblog - March 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

