I love my Library!

Bizarre Visionen - bold visions

Cover of "Bizarre Visionen - Fantastische Bilderwelten" by Gary Tonge

The original title of the book is “Bold Visions”, and Gary Tonge published it 2008.

I was looking for a book about digital painting with Photoshop and found this one. I ordered it via E-mail and fetched it today from the library. When I arrived at home I could not resist from browsing through the pages and looking at the excellent photos.

Of course I’ve already found lots of tutorials about digital painting on the web, including some very instructive ones on Youtube.
However there is a difference between reading tutorials online and turning the pages of a real book. I felt like a child going through some picture book, captivated by the vividness and aesthetic quality of the pictures.

Those kind of “real” books are quite expensive. Sometimes you buy such an expensive book and are disappointed when you’ve got it in your hands. Here in Berlin we pay 10 Euros a year and can go to every public library. There’s an online catalogue and we can order via e-mail.

Due to being an internet citizen I learnt about the intention of the British government to close down libraries. It made me realize how well off we are here in Berlin at the moment, and how important it is that we have a working system of public libraries. I think I’ve fallen in love with my library again…

 

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

