The Dragon – a Picture and a Story to be told

Dragon - almost final version

The Last Days of the Dragon Prince

When I looked at the printed painting (it is the first digital painting I’ve ever printed out), a story began to form itself. It went like this:

It was the first time that the young dragons had come into the Hall of Fame. It was a huge hall with high stone walls. At the long end of the wall the Wise Old Dragon was standing, directly under a huge painting. Slowly the young dragons came nearer, huddling together like some dragon kids afraid of the Big Death.

“Get going”, the Wise Old Dragon said in his rough voice. “We don’t have that much time.”

Finally the young dragons had arranged themselves around the WOD, as they called him when they thought he could not hear them (mind you, he always could!). “Look at that picture! Here you can see the famous and unforgotten Flavir, the Dragon Prince.”

“He doesn’t look like a dragon”, LLarril said. “He looks like a bird with his feathers. We look different.” The young dragons looked at each other, and then at the Wise Old Dragon. “We are different.”

“Yes, we are. But without Flavir, the Dragon Prince, we would not be here. Come nearer, my young friends, and I will tell you the story of the last days of Prince Flavir and the first days of Hagnir who came after him…”

Yes, there is a story to be told. And suddenly I feel joy and anxiety at the same time. Could it be that I could tie the two together – writing and creating pictures? Suddenly two words are in my mind and I am terribly afraid to utter them – “illustrator” and “author”.

Well, I could always say: it is a story with a picture, and I wrote the story, and I painted the picture. I could avoid the words I am afraid to use…

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “The Dragon – a Picture and a Story to be told”

  1. Wendi Kelly-Life's Little Inspirations says :

    Follow the whispers in your head. It is your muse talking to you. And Ulla, haven’t you realized yet? You can be anything you dare to be.

    DARE.

Leave a Reply

