Don’t limit Yourself!

On Friday I wrote a post about one of my resolutions for 2011, “just do it!”. Today I will deal with my second resolution:

Don’t limit yourself!

Giraffe - Colored

Giraffe. Colored in Photoshop

You probably ask what that painting has to do with my resolution. Well, it is just an example. It has been colored in Photoshop, but not with the tool everybody would use – the brush tool. I did use other tools – the pen tool and the smudge tool.

I don’t want to get too much into the details here, but I had that idea in my mind, that without having a wacom graphic tablet it would be easier to define colour spaces with the pen-tool. Most tutorials on coloring in Photoshop mention the paint brush, but I simply thought it could be done in an other way and went for a try. I didn’t limit myself, so to speak.

You can apply that motto to various aspects of daily life. You are coming home after a hard work day and you look on your list with household chores. Instead of thinking “I’ll never be able to do this!” – don’t limit yourself. Sometimes I wonder how many things and what sort of things I am able to do. One morning I entered my bathroom in the usual half awake state and tried to put on the light. WHAM! The bulb in the bathroom somehow had decided to call it a day. I stood there, feeling helpless. I hadn’t come to my senses yet, how should I be able to change the darned thing? Then “Don’t limit yourself!” came to my mind, I fetched a new bulb and after 15 minutes the problem was solved.

Do you have a motto or more than one for 2011 and might share it here?

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Don’t limit Yourself!”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    You seem to enjoy art activities more and more. And the lovely resolutions. Please keep them. I’ve already uploaded my resolultions at the beginning for the blog. Your first resolution overlaps mine.
    Cheers, Sadami

Leave a Reply

