Just do it!

It’s almost the end of January 2011 and time for a review on the first month of the new year.

In the first days of January I decided to cling to two mottos:

  • Just do it
  • Don’t limit yourself

I will deal with the second one in my next blog post. Today I’ll tell you why “Just do it” has become so important for me.

It is strange, but at work I am quite good at organising projects. Last Monday I had a presentation about the basics of Search Engine Optimization, and everything went fine, including the coffee and the cookies.

Regarding my private projects it is a bit different. I manage blogging thrice a week here on this blog, but often I sit in front of the white screen and have only a very vague idea of what I am going to say or present. Other people have editorial plans – not me. But as I said before, I manage to get those posts published.

Regarding my household chores it was hugely different. I must admit that in 2010 I neglected them considerably, and when my cousin came to stay with me in June it took me a whole week to get the flat presentable. At the beginning of 2011 I decided to have a change. And now, on the 28th of January 2011, I can say that up to now I have been successful.

What did I do?

  1. I reactivated my toodledo-account.
  2. I wrote down only the tasks I thought I could do on a day. I knew that I would not like to do household chores after work and before a social evening with friends, so I didn’t schedule anything on those days.
  3. But: Once I had written down a task like swiffing the bathroom floor I told myself: “Just do it!” I tied back my hair into a ponytail, imagined myself being a dust and dirt fighter and attacked the floor or whatever had to be cleaned.
  4. So far I have been successful, and my home has reached a presentable state. You won’t be able to eat from the floor – but who wants to do that?
Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Just do it!”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    Congratulations on your successful month, Ulla!

    I agree wholeheartedly that ‘Just do it!’ can be extremely useful. I could find all sorts of reasons/excuses not to get on with things if I stop and think about them too much! And then when they hang around at the back of my mind, they weigh me down until I ‘just do them!’

Leave a Reply

