Giraffe

Giraffe - ballpoint pen sketch

Giraffe. Ballpoint pen drawing by Ulla Hennig

Yesterday I wanted to sketch giraffes, and so I went through Google images. The first sketch was a fail, but I did not give up and the one above is the result of my second try. Actually the eyes are not quite right – they are a bit lopsided I think – but apart from that the critter looks quite giraffe-y.

Giraffes are beautiful creatures. They move in such an elegant way! As far as I know they are not attacked by lions or other carnivores – they know that a kick with the foot can kill them.

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Giraffe”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    I don’t think you need to worry too much about your giraffe’s eyes being lopsided, Ulla. Human beings’ faces are almost always lopsided – they’d look odd if they were completely symmetrical! – so I expect the same goes for animals.

  2. Jessica Ling says :

    I, for one, love the way the eyes are drawn. 🙂 They look inquisitive, curious, and yet satisfied and comfortable with life.

    Love the sketch!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Giraffe « Ulla Hennig's Weblog -- Topsy.com - January 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

