The Blogging Artist

Almost two years ago, in January 2009, I wrote The Blogger as an Artist. In this blogpost I asked whether I had the right to call myself an artist. I had included one of my pastel drawings in the blog post, a drawing I had done in the 80s of the 20th century. I also wrote in that blogpost that I should begin to draw more often.

Now, in January 2011, I am cheeky enough to call myself a blogging artist. I consider myself something like a “newbie Artist”, an artist at the very beginning of my art career, an amateur artist who will never be able to live off her art. But I have found a deep joy in drawing, doodling, sketching, painting, in looking at other people’s art. And, I don’t know if you have noticed it yet, I changed the subtitle of my blog: It is now “Art, Photos and Musings”, with art standing at the first place.

I know my art is far from perfect, and I know that I have to get out of my comfort zone in order to learn – I actually began to draw people in different poses and have to do more of that. I want to do still life, landscapes and flowers. You will see some of that in the coming months of 2011.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

6 responses to “The Blogging Artist”

  1. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Major wootness and congrats! Great job indeed.

    Might want to change the title, then, to

    The Cheeky Blogging Artist – Ulla Hennig

    🙂

  2. Wendi Kelly says :

    Ulla,

    I am pasting and copying what I said to you that same day back in 2009,

    “To me, an artist, no matter what the medium may be, is a person who takes their creativity and the emotion that they feel and they find a way to express it it through a medium and cause another person to feel an emotion and share an experience. You are very good at that. Through your words, through your photography and now also through your paintings.
    Ulla, I encourage you…stop asking for permision to claim that title, it already belongs to you in so many ways!!!Embrace it and hold it close in all of the ways that you can. Express it and soar!!!!!”

    That was true then, and it is even more true today, and now I want to add this: You have come SOOO far and are such an inspiration. You are not a newbie artist, you are an artist on a journey of self- exploration through new mediums. And I encourage you to dump the mindset that you will never be able to make a living from your art. With your dedication, discipline to practice and learn, and natural talent of expressing your heart and vision through art- you can do anything. Don’t limit yourself.

    I’m still a huge fan.

  3. Ulla Hennig says :

    Wendi,
    reading your comment first made me speechless, and then almost brought tear into my eyes and then it made me think. Yes, it is not only wonderful to read those words, but they also serve as an orientation for me: “Don’t limit yourself!” I think I declare that as my motto for 2011! Thanks for telling me that!

  4. Jessica Ling says :

    You’ve been creating art since 2009 and yet you still feel you don’t have the right to call yourself a professional artist?

    Here’s how I think of it: everything on this Earth makes up the materials and potential for art, and my definition of “art” is anything that causes you to stop and think for a minute. Some of Earth’s contents are depressing, some are cheerful, some are breathtaking, some are dull and everything else you can imagine. However, it takes an artist to take those materials and work them into, well, art. And you’ve done that! You’ve created so many beautiful pieces (many of which have made themselves home on my computer’s desktop). Every time you post a new sketch, or drawing, or photo, I know it’s going to be something amazing, because every time I find myself staring at the screen for a few minutes just contemplating “How did she do that?” or “What was the inspiration for this?” and that is the sign of true art.

    You’re an amazing artist, and don’t let anyone (including yourself!) ever tell you otherwise. 🙂

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Jessica,
      I am so glad you decided to speak up on my blog! “my definition of “art” is anything that causes you to stop and think for a minute.” What a great definition of art in one sentence! Your comment is an important reminder for me to keep in mind the way I’ve come and the way I am going to take. There’s always something to learn for me, but on the other hand I’ve learned a lot already. And I am glad you will accompany me on the road I am taking. Thanks so much!

  5. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    In my view, ultimately, your question is up to a subjective decision and a quest in an individual inner world. Whatever other people say, if a person does recognize her/himself an artist, s/he will be able to bear the noun, “artist.” A reversed fact is also true. Ulla, if you like, try my favorite book, Rilke, “Letters to a Young Poet.” I met that book at a teen age. It has shown me the way to go.
    In addition, there is no “perfect” on the earth. Please stop pursuing an illustion and determine to be “what you are.” In my eyes, you’re shining in your own way.
    Best wishes, Sadami

Leave a Reply

