Male Face

Male face

Male face. Sketch: Ulla Hennig

It has become a habit now, and one I really love to do: doing at least one sketch a day. The paper I use for those sketches is being printed upon on one side (as you can see in the photo), so I’ve got no problems when a sketch goes wrong.

What I like on this sketch is the expression on the face. This is not a hero’s face–it’s the face of someone who is surprised, wondering, looking at the world around him with big wide open eyes. He’s not a young man, and not a very good looking one, too. He’s just the type of man you would find if you go out of your house and into the next shop… He’s human.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Male Face”

  1. Mariana says :

    Great sketch Ulla, and a wonderful idea doing a sketch daily — that’s how I started 4 years ago and I’ve loved every minute. Nowadays I can only manage to complete a piece of art a week, but I still do some kind of drawing daily, it’s therapeutic. Keep it up! Cheers, Mariana

  2. Jessica Ling says :

    Very nice sketch! I love your style 🙂 I wish I could draw like you~~ I love especially how the man isn’t perfect, but, like you said, human like the rest of us.

    That’s a good idea; sketching daily. I think I’ll try it out.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Jessica,
      thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! Everybody who can hold a pencil can learn to draw. When I look at the drawings I did some time ago I notice how much I have learned by practising!

Leave a Reply

