Guardian Angel II

9Guardian Angel

Guardian Angel. Watercolor and Colored pencils, done by Ulla Hennig

The medieval period is one of my favorite periods in history. I love to read about medieval society, how the knights lived in their cold and often very simple castles, how they fought against other knights in order to get more land (and honour, but that often came second), and how the farmers and merchants managed to make a living. I am also quite fascinated with the part women played in that society.

All this made me think of a guardian angel as a woman knight clad not in armour (she would not need that, would she?) but in some kind of tunika. Her sword is in its sheath which I decorated with some flowers.

Although I consider myself to be a rather rational person I like the idea of a guardian angel with a sword in her hands to attack anybody who wants to hurt me. It can be a quite assuring thought…

This was the first drawing where I used watercolour pencils as such, for a first layer, and then worked on this layer with dry watercolour pencils, Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils and my new Derwent Coloursoft pencils.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Guardian Angel II”

  1. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Love your comment:

    “Although I consider myself to be a rather rational person I like the idea of a guardian angel with a sword in her hands to attack anybody who wants to hurt me. It can be a quite assuring thought…”

    Guardian angels rock!

Leave a Reply

