My first Digital Drawing

Hand, digitally drawn with touchpad

Hand, digitally drawn with touchpad

I haven’t got a Wacom graphic tablet up to now. But I nevertheless did my first digital drawing. The lines are a bit unsteady, as you can easily see.

There is an amazing site on the web which shows you various poses of the hand, and you can change them with clicking on the hand. I first did the drawing the traditional way with a ballpoint pen. Then I put the drawing on one side of my laptop and copied it directly into Photoshop, using my index finger on the touchpad and  a mediumsized brush.

In the beginning I felt rather unsure–would I be able to do it “the hard way”? But then my index finger somehow got used to the task. How easily I could make changes! Just take the eraser, erase the line and try it a second time. Hmmm. And then the shadows: I took my right hand, tried to imitate the pose and looked for the light and shadows.

The result is not something I would brag about, but the process was worthwhile trying it. I learned a lot about how to draw a hand, how to master my touchpad and how to distribute light and shadows. And it was fun!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “My first Digital Drawing”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    Oooohhh….!! That’s technology for me… I have to get that info.
    Cheers, Sadami

  2. Chrissy Marie says :

    Well done you, I have touchpad, it isn’t a wacom it is a cheaper version and although I have played, I decided it was very difficult!

  3. carolinetindal says :

    For hand drawn that is good going. Lines are never easy. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

