Looking forward into the Year 2011

In a few days the year 2010 will have come to an end, and it’s time to – no, not to set goals. I know a lot of people do at this time of the year, but I am not ready for doing this yet. I am at the stage of jotting down some thoughts, some results of learning processes and some intentions.

  1. I want to and I will keep up with my creative activities. They have become an essential part of my life.
  2. Those creative activities consist of doing traditional and digital art. The focus may change–there may be a time when I will concentrate on doing the one or the other, but in general I will do both. I feel joy taking a colored pencil in my hand or a copic marker, or simply doing a pencil sketch; but I also feel joy and am totally taken away sitting at my laptop, trying to create a digital sky.
  3. It is important to know my tools. This applies to traditional art as well as to digital art. How do you work with a watercolour pencil and with colour pencils? How do you shade? What happens if you wet the paper first and then apply the watercolour pencil? Same with photoshop: what can you do with the smudge tool (blend), the dogde and the burn tool? With the different brushes? In 2011 I will continue to learn more about the tools, and maybe a bit more systematically than in the year 2010.
  4. It is important to use my eyes. One of the essential questions is: “Where does the light come from?” because the answer to that question decides about light and shadows. I’ve got a lot to learn here. Using my eyes also means looking at nature or whatever I am referencing very consciously. How does a sky look like? It is not simply blue–it changes its colour regarding to whether it is in the distance or the sky above me. How does the bark of a tree look like? On which side of a tree can you find moss? Which colour does the bark of a tree have? brown, grey, blackish?
  5. It is important to practice. I’ll try to use every day–to draw, to see consciously, to jot down what I see.
  6. Note to self: Have fun! have fun! have fun!
Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Looking forward into the Year 2011”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    You already know all the important points. Indeed, they are just what I’ve been doing everyday in you call “traditional art” practice. I replied for you in my blog, too, but they overlap your say here. Just keep drawing. Sure, you’ll find a way.
    May 2011 will be a wonderful year for you. Enjoy both!!
    Best wishes, Sadami

Leave a Reply

