Dozing Dragon

Dozing by ~gnitfried-neleh

Dozing by ~gnitfried-neleh

Since a few weeks now going through DeviantArt and looking at drawings and paintings (traditional and digital art) has been my daily routine. The number of those which catch my eye and make me look at them in big size is not that high, but I definitely love this one, and there are a few reasons for that:

  1. I love dragons. I love Anne McCaffrey’s books in which dragons play an important part. I’ve got one called “Dragonsinger” which has been published in the late 70s of the 20th century (of course I’ve got the German translation-at that time I was not very good reading books in English). That book has survived any attempts to declutter my book shelf. When I was a kid I used to read the story about a dragon kid (kid dragon?) who was so sad about the fact that he could not properly spit fire and because of that was laughed at by his fellow dragons-the poor kid! I love dragons because they are so powerful and -at the same time-wise. I don’t see them as evil creatures which have to slayed, but I think I am bit off the German mainstream with that, with the big German saga of Siegfried slaying the dragon and covering himself with his blood in order to make him safe.
  2. I love blue. Blue is the absolute color for me to calm down. Be it the colors of the sea or the color of the sky, the color of a quite lake or noisy river, blue is beautiful!
  3. I like the way the artist used a dark blue pastel paper as background. That reminds me to try out using my pencils on colored pastel paper. I haven’t done that yet–it will be a nice project for my Christmas vacations.
Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Dozing Dragon”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    Lovely drawing that shows your love for dragons and blue. Wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Relax and enjoy art activities.
    Best wishes, Sadami

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Dozing Dragon « Topicco – Find, Read, Share - December 22, 2010

Leave a Reply

