Art on the Internet

There are hundreds of Art blogs, artists’ webpages, art communities like DeviantArt.com and loads of tutorials on YouTube. I’ve subscribed to some art blogs, been on quite a lot of artists’ pages, and visiting DeviantArt has become a daily ritual.

You could say now “And when will you find the time to do art yourself? Does not that browsing around the interwebs keep you from painting and drawing?”

I do not know how it is with other people but my answer is “No.” As some of you may know I work at the Berlin University of the Arts. There is Fine Arts, Performing Arts, Design and Music. Of course the University is a place to learn by getting taught something. But it is also a place where you are inspired by your fellow students, by the creative atmosphere.

Somehow for me art on the Web in its different forms does just that – it inspires me, I get new ideas which I want to put into practice. More than once I watched a YouTube video one evening and got some ideas and put them into practice the next day. I look at other people’s art and ask myself: “How did he do it? What did he do to produce that and that mood?”

I admit that I sometimes run the danger of getting lost. So many interesting informations! So many things one could do! So many things I have to learn! And then I go offline, grab my creative journal and ask myself: “What will be my next project? Something with watercolour pencils? Wet or dry? Wet underlayer, and then dry pencils?” Off to practice I go.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Art on the Internet”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    A deluge of information. Could be an era of choice for information users. We equally have 24hours. Up to us, how to use it.
    Cheers, Sadami

Leave a Reply

