The letters of Christmas

The letters of Christmas

The letters of Christmas. Colored Pencils and Photoshop

Some days ago I had the idea to do a drawing with the letters of Christmas – C, H, r,  i, s, t, m, a, s. (While I am writing this I notice that I left one letter out – *blushes deeply*!) You will easily find out which one…

This was a very spontaneous activity without much thought given to which letters will get which size and which colour and which ones should be in the background. Somehow, the drawing happened.

When I had taken a photo of the drawing and looked upon it on my computer screen I was a bit disappointed about the flatness of the colours. The coloured pencils I used are watercolour pencils used as dry pencils. I could have played around with light and contrast in Photoshop, trying to bring out more of the intensity of the colours. But in this case I decided to go over the drawing with Photoshop brushes, so to speak colour the drawing for a second time.

When doing that I was a bit sloppy with the brush, but it was my intention to make it look this way, to make it look like it was being done “by hand”.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “The letters of Christmas”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    What an imaginative idea! And, as you’ll expect by now, I love your phrase, ‘The drawing just happened’!

Leave a Reply

