The Blue Prince

Blue elf prince

The Blue elf prince. Colored pencil drawing: Ulla Hennig

This is how I thought a blue elf prince could look like. I had no reference photo, just the image in my head.

This was done after I had bought a new sharpener for my colored pencils (Note to self: always think of having a really sharp sharpener at home-it makes a lot of difference!

The drawing was done on white sketch paper. I added the background in Photoshop. In order to do this I had to take the following steps:

  1. Select the portrait with the magic wand.
  2. Revert the selection.
  3. Copy and paste to a new file with transparent background.
  4. Add another layer.
  5. Choose the appropriate colors for a nice dark gradient.
  6. Select the gradient tool and draw it across the layer from the upper left to the lower right part of the layer.
  7. Save as a psd file (this keeps the layers as layers)
  8. Choose appropriate height and width
  9. Save as jpg (this creates only one background layer).

I could have experimented much more with the colors of the background layer, but I am quite satisfied with the result for now.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “The Blue Prince”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    I wouldn’t like to meet him on a dark night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

