Looking Back

It is December now, and in a short time the year will come to an end. So I think the time has come to look back and do some year review.

In 2010 I changed my focus considerably. 2009 had been the year of Squidoo activities. I still remember running for Giant (which meant for me writing about 40 lenses in 3 months). I made it, but I felt like running a Marathon, almost breaking down on the last kilometers or miles. I also remember feeling burnt out and not wanting to write any Squidoo lens anymore!

And then, after having recovered somewhat, I discovered Zazzle for me. Well, I had signed up for Zazzle in October 2009, but had not done anything with the shop. The main reason was fear–that I would never be good enough for showing my products to the whole world. But from March 2010 on I overcame that fear and just did it. First I created things with my photos, and then–well, I discovered the world of Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and Digital Design in general. I played around, and created things and put them online, and: THE FIRST SALE!

I will never forget the first sale, a cute busy bee made with Inskape (the free alternative software to Adobe Illustrator) on an apron. I was so happy! And of course, got a lot of energy and motivation and confidence from the sale.

Then my summer vacations arrived, and I had planned them to be creative vacations. I managed to put my plans into practice: I began to draw, to paint. I discovered the world of art. It was so much fun, and when the vacations were over I decided to continue with my creative activities even during the work week. I began to write a creative journal to jot down ideas, next steps, experiences.

I even used my art pieces to create products on Zazzle. Sometimes my inner critic told me that I should stop it, spamming the world with my unworthy products. But my inner creative me told her to shut up…

From autumn on I became a member on deviantart.com and I must admit, I spend a lot of time there, looking at other people’s galleries, reading or looking at tutorials, uploading my own art (OMG, am I saying “art”?), commenting. And just now I am into colored pencils. Colored pencils in Germany are for kids only–they are not looked upon as having the same value as water colours, oil and acrylic paints. I noticed however, that some great artists in the U.S.A. or in the United Kingdom are creating awesome pieces of art with them, and that there are some wonderful books about colored pencil art. (Amazon, here I come!)

So yes, my focus changed. It was a year full of discoveries, adventures, new paths. And what about 2011? I will keep you posted!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Looking Back”

  1. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    …amazing, your enthusiasm truly impresses me. Please keep up and post this blog! Hip, hip, hurray, hurray, Ulla!
    Cheers, Sadami

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Looking Back « Topicco – Find, Read, Share - December 21, 2010

Leave a Reply

