Portrait in Colored Pencils

Portrait done with colored pencils

Portrait done with colored pencils. Ulla Hennig

Suddenly I had the urge to take my colored pencils and color this sketch. Actually, these are watercolor pencils, but they can be used as “normal” colored pencils.

The dirty spots around the portrait are the leftovers from the original photograph I took of the painting. I worked over the photo with Photoshop, trying to create a transparent background by erasing all the color around the portrait. As you can see I did a rather sloppy job with that.

I worked with Leonardo da Vinci watercolor pencils. I’ve been reading a lot about Prismacolor pencils, but you cannot get these in a shop here in Germany. They are offered online, however, and together with the shipping they are more expensive than those I’ve got. However I am thinking about adding some Prismacolors to my colored pencils stock–just to be able to compare them!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

