Colored Pencils

Horse painted with colored pencils

Horse painted with colored pencils by Ulla Hennig

This is a very rough sketch. I returned to the non-digital tools of painting because some days ago I discovered a pad of tracing paper. I must have bought it quite a long time ago because I had almost forgotten that I had it. Looking at it I remembered some videos on YouTube which show how an artist did the final drawing on tracing paper.

So I took my sketch pad and a reference photo of a horse and a pencil. Then I put the tracing paper over the sketch paper and did the inking with a 0.8 mm pen. Hmm. I was not very satisfied with the result and put the paper away. Today, in a short break at work, I watched another video showing how somebody colored a rose with colored pencils. Coming home from work I looked at the drawing on the tracing paper. Maybe if… At least I could give it a try. I was quite surprised how the pencils worked on the tracing paper.

So, on this day I learnt quite a few things:

  1. how to get inspired and motivated by the multitude of art (experiences, tutorials, works) on the web.
  2. not to give up too early!
  3. the difference between a simple lineart drawing and a colored drawing
  4. that there is a world outside digital painting! Both worlds–the world of traditional art and the one of digital art, are fascinating and offer new experiences almost every day.
Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

