Horse – digitally painted

digital_horse

Digital painting of a wild horse. Artist: Ulla Hennig

This is my first digital painting of a horse. I sketched the horse, took a photograph of the horse and then worked on it in Photoshop. I took the following steps:

  1. I did the lineart with the pen-tool. Attention: In order to do that properly, you have to select the proper brush and the proper size of the brush, and of course the color of your lines. And you have to do it on an additional layer. I called this layer “lineart”.
  2. After having done the lineart, I added a second layer and called it “basic color”. I then took a bigger brush and colored the horse.
  3. I then again added a layer and called it “shadows”. Now I selected a darker brown and did the parts of the horse where the shadows are.
  4. I did the same for the parts of the horse where the light is shining on–of course in this case with a lighter brown.
  5. I colored the mane and the muzzle with a dark grey.
  6. I added another layer for the grass. Here I was lazy and put the light green on the same layer as the darker ones.

After having done all that my painting energy somewhat left me, and I thought about putting it online. But then I discovered a lot of white spots where I hadn’t been with the brush. So the last part of my work was dedicated to cleaning up the image. And voila, here it is!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Horse – digitally painted”

  1. Wendi Kelly-Life's Little Inspirations says :

    Ulla,

    Those were such detailed instructions I feel like I could go to photoshop and give them a try. And I am thinking I might. If I do, I will show you what happens. Thank you for the lesson!

Leave a Reply

