My Creativity Journal

Today I want to share something with you — my creative journal.

In June a friend of mine gave me a DIN A 4 notepad with a very nice cover as a present. I decided to use it as a kind of journal for my creative activities. In the beginning I mostly wrote down tasks–work on that Squidoo lens, create a new Zazzle design, put it on new Zazzle products. I also wrote down ideas regarding the next blog posts, and when to put them into practice.

From August on my lists changed into longer paragraphs. I began to write reports about my experiences with Photoshop–what did I learn? Which mistakes could I avoid in the future? I also wrote down thoughts about the use of twitter as a promotional tool. I jotted down the structure of a new Squidoo lens about my Zazzle products (I must admit I haven’t put that into practice yet!)

To say it in one sentence: The journal now is a tool for development and learning. To-do-lists haven’t disappeared completely, but often they are annotated (“This task is important because … In doing it I have to keep in mind that…”)

Having written this I would be very interested to know: What do you think about such a journal?

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “My Creativity Journal”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    I think a ‘creativity journal’ is an excellent idea but there is one possible pitfall, for me but probably not for you! It is that it’s perfectly possible to spend so much time writing about what you’re going to do, making lists etc that you take away from the time you would have to actually create!

    I have an awful lot of lists, mostly in notebooks – design ideas, blog post ideas, computer jobs…..and a whole lot more! And keeping them updated can be quite a job in itself. But your ‘creativity journal’ has given me the idea of starting a file for all my lists, instead of having them all in separate places. At least that way, I won’t spend time looking for a specific list – as often happens!!!

Leave a Reply

