Fat Monk

Fat monk

Fat monk. Sketch and coloring: Ulla Hennig

This colored drawing was more or less done in Photoshop. Okay, I did a first drawing with pencil and ink, but then I took a photo of it with my digital camera and continued to work on it with Photoshop.

My first step here was to outline the face with a brush on a new layer. I haven’t got a wacom tablet, so it took quite some time and a very steady hand to do the lines. In a second step I colored the head in the lightest pink I could get. Every time I went over the outlines I used the eraser. It is important here to be sure on which layer you are working! It is also important to zoom in for details.

In a third step I used darker pink colors to shade. I did not have a reference photo to see exactly where the darker parts of the face are, so I did it as I thought it would be correct–which might be wrong!

By the way: I thought about a caption for the colored drawing. What about “Yes, I know, I am fat. So what?” What other captions are you thinking about?

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

