Art Adventures – continued

Dog, colored with copic ciaos

Dog, colored with copic ciaos, by Ulla Hennig

One week ago I bought my first copic markers. They are produced in Japan, and they come in about 144 colors. One end of them is a brush, and the other one a nib.

There are quite a lot of video tutorials about them on YouTube, and I had been watching many of them before actually buying them. Then I thought about this drawing, and that it might be nice coloring it.

Well, I was the proud owner of three copic ciaos (these are the markers for the beginners, they say), and I had found a nice box for them. On the one hand I really wanted to try them, on the other hand I was afraid of ruining my drawing.

In the end curiosity won, as you can see above. In many aspects painting/coloring with copics is similar to painting with water colors. You begin with the lightest color and then shade with the darker ones. I had the feeling though that I’ve got far more control then I would have with water colors. I think I hooked!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Art Adventures – continued”

  1. Jayleebn says :

    Great illustration!
    Copics are awesome! If you get the sketch markers (copics main line) there are 344 colours plus you can mix colours of your own with their refill ink.
    Thanks for subscribing to me on youtube 😀

  2. Sadami says :

    Dear Ulla,
    Wonderful!! I really love this work. I have to check copics at an art supply. Thank you for the interesting information.
    Cheers, Sadami

  3. Fred h Schlegel says :

    Nice job Ulla. I like the way your art is progressing.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A Year ago « Ulla Hennig's Weblog - October 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

