Reckless or adventurous?

In the beginning of my Zazzle career I was very very careful in selecting my photos for Zazzle. Actually I went through my hard disk, looked on that photo and that and in the end did not take them. I saw this flaw and that flaw and considered most of them not to be good enough to appear on a card, a mug, a mousepad, a sticker or a keychain.

Then there came the time when I did a search for a certain design on Zazzle I was considering making or uploading. I found a lot of great designs, a lot of good designs and some OMG-designs. I felt much more secure now with uploading my own.

I even converted the quick sketch of an elephant (which you could see in my last post) into a design, as you can see here:

It is not bad for a quick sketch, but putting it on some products is reckless–or adventurous? Whatever the answer might be, I learnt a lot during the process. One thing was that the magnetic lasso is a perfect tool for selecting a sketch, much better than the pen tool. I tried it for the first time and was surprised how fast I could select the elephant, copy it and put it on a transparent layer. This is necessary because then people who are interested in buying the mug but don’t like the color of the background can change it without problems.
By the way, there is an interesting blog which is called:ZaBestZaWorst

As the name implies it picks out the best and the worst!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Reckless or adventurous?”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    After looking at the blog about the best and worst, I wouldn’t even use the word ‘adventurous’ for your elephants, though I realise it all depends on how it feels to you!

    But how awful to have one’s products picked to pieces on a blog like that! I would have thought that a quiet word to the person who had made a spelling mistake, for instance, would be much kinder!

Leave a Reply

