To Doodle or not do Doodle

My creative processes are differing from each other, at least so it seems to me. Some could be described as doodling – creating a circle here, and one there, and connecting them, filling them with a certain color, and such like. In the end I look at the result, and it looks funny and kind of alright to me.
Some processes are work. i’ve got a picture in my mind, as with this little devil. Then I tried to put it into reality. Take the horns, for instance, or the way the little creature is holding the fork in its hand. Hmm. I wasn’t satisfied at all with the first results, but I saved the file. I worked on it the second day – and I really mean “worked”. I am still having my difficulties with Inkscape, so often I worked by trial and error. I am was not too sure about the final result, but I got some encouraging comments, and the more I look at the cute little devil the more I like him.
Now I want to try out something: I got a witch cartoon in my mind. And I will play around on paper – using the geometric forms I will have to use in Inkscape. At the end of that doodling process I will have an orientation on how the cartoon should look like and on how to work on it with Inkscape. Oh, I am looking forward to the next design!
About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

