Doug the Daring Dolphin

Doug the Delphin

Here’s my newest critter – Dough the Daring Dolphin! He’s another result of me playing around with vektor graphics, this time with Adobe Illustrator. I must admit that I had a tutorial which I followed, but as always the result does not look exactly like the dolphin in the tutoral.

One thing that I am just thinking about is the fact that I have no restriction to try out new things with a computer graphics program. But I am inhibited regarding doodling around with pencils and paper. The reason could be that I seem to be a quite perfectionistic person, and with computer graphics you can just delete the file and begin from the beginning. In the pen and pencil reality you have to throw the result into the paper basket – another page of that sketchbook gone! Waah! Failure! Idiot! You see that you can’t do it!

I know that some artists are following my blog, and so I would be very much interested in the way you deal with the fact that not everything you create is perfect (if I may say this).

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Doug the Daring Dolphin”

  1. Barb Hartsook says :

    Hahaha — how do I deal with the imperfect pieces I draw, doodle or paint? I toss them into one of three large drawers. And when I need to send a card or write a note, I rip or tear or cut pieces of the failed works and they become collage-like for my notes. Amazing how many people love stuff that’s hand-done. 🙂 Or I use them for collage…

    It’s hard to not doodle! If I have a pen in hand and there’s paper available, I’m gonna make marks and squiggles and such.

    Love your dolphin!
    Barb

Leave a Reply

