Hugo the Happy Ghost

Hugo the happy ghost

Hugo the happy Ghost. Illustration by Ulla Hennig

At the moment when I am writing this it is more than 30 degrees Celsius outside and about 25 degrees inside. So it is quite strange to think about Halloween yet (although thinking of those autumn days could have a cooling effect on me…).

But I am the proud owner of a zazzle shop and I am told that you have to think months ahead, and, of course, produce months ahead. Well, the chocolate for Christmas is alreading being produced, same as the christmas tree decorations. So why not think about Halloween yet?

Well, here I stop to pretend to be the cool marketing savyy woman. Hugo was the product of joyfully doodling around with Inkscape. I am still learning new things with this program, and I am learning by doing. There are a number of tutorials on the web, but I prefer to learn by trial and error. It takes longer this way, and sometimes I have to ask somebody or the handbook or a tutorial, but usually I try to avoid it.

And why is it Hugo? Somehow I connect the name “Hugo” with some old noble family, maybe French or English. He’s quite young for a ghost, still not so familar with the ghost world, and not so much into making humans afraid of him. I even imagine him getting afraid by the actions of his ghost family, especially his older brother Renard…

Note to myself: This is utter summer madness.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Hugo the Happy Ghost”

  1. sandyspider says :

    It is hot all over. Great blog post.

  2. Judy Adamson says :

    Learning by doing is by far the best way for most people, most of the time. Who knows where your ‘joyful doodling’ will take you next? I’m looking forward to finding out!

Leave a Reply

