Keep cool, man!

After many months of low temperatures and grey skies Berlin is now being attacked by desert heat – 35 degrees Celsius in the shadow. The weather forecast for next week announces a pleasant 24 degree on Tuesday, but don’t worry – the temperatures will raise again from Wednesday on.

So there’s no problem watching the football match Germany vs Spain in the open air: The match will be shown in the evening (no need to put on sunscreen at that time) and it will still be pleasantly warm, but not too hot.

However one still has to work – inside. I work on the 5th floor under a flat roof. It took me some time to find out how I could create some tolerable working conditions (no air-conditioning at that place, mind you):

  1. open window in the very early morning.
  2. close window after one hour, open door of office room.
  3. put heavy object on doorstep in order to prevent door from shutting with heavy bang.
  4. tell colleagues in the room next to me that having a window openened at 11.30 in the morning has no cooling effect at all…
  5. Leave office to fetch something to drink.

I think about adding item no 6: Look at the mousepad below in order to keep cool:

The photo was taken in Denmark in 2007, and although the summer was unusually hot there, there was always a pleasant temperature down at the beach or near the sea.
Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Keep cool, man!”

  1. Alexandra says :

    Hi Ulla,

    another solution (for some) might be changing your working hours. You could – for example – start at six o’ clock in the morning, work till noon, then take a loooooooong break and perhaps do some more work in the evening when it cools down.

    Of course this will only be possible if you have flexible working hours and don’t mind getting up *very* early …

    Liebe Grüße aus Hannover
    Alexandra

  2. sandyspider says :

    After a slow start with Spring, we have been having some very warm and humid temperature here too. Very peaceful and beautiful mousepad.

  3. Judy Adamson says :

    I have the same problem in my attic room where I paint and where my desktop computer and printer are. I have a big fan but it blows all my bits of paper around! My solution is to work downstairs on my laptop most of the time as my house is old and downstairs stays very cool. It even feels chilly downstairs sometimes so then I go and catch up on work that I can only do upstairs to warm myself up. You’re right about opening windows – makes no difference at all! Your lovely yachts in Denmark are very pleasantly cooling though!

  4. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla! It looks like our weather is following the same pattern as Berlin. We had a slow start to Spring with a return to winter temps and then we sprang right into summer. We have a heat advisory here now with temperatures so hot you can’t do anything but stay inside. Sending cool thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

