The Nikolai Quarter in Berlin

Nikolai Quarter in Berlin

The Nikolai Quarter in Berlin. Photo: Ulla Hennig

I had been offline for some days. One of my cousins from the South of Germany stayed in my flat from Thursday afternoon until Monday morning, and it was wonderful to show her my home town and spend the time with her.

Apart from writing e-mails and creating photo books with the computer she doesn’t share my fascination for the internet, and as I did not want to spend our precious time me hacking away at the keyboard and she being left alone I decided to stay away from my dear notebook.

We had gorgeous weather on the weekend, and the photo above is one of the results of strolling through the city. The so-called Nikolai Quarter is the oldest part of the town. To put it precisely, it was the oldest part of the town, because it was destroyed during the bomb raids on Berlin. In order to celebrate the 750th birthday of Berlin the German Democratic Republic decided to re-build it.

So the Nikolai Quarter looks like a town in the middle Ages, but it is not. There are many cosy restaurants and cafés there, and we enjoyed to sit outside and drink a typical Berlin beverage – the so-called “Weiße mit Schuss” (a certain brand of beer with syrup in it).

In the middle of the photo you can see the “Berliner Dom” (Berlin Dome), a huge round cathedral. This cathedral was the church of the Prussian Kings.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “The Nikolai Quarter in Berlin”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    I hadn’t imagined Berlin like that at all, Ulla! Is that a river or a canal running through?

  2. Ulla Hennig says :

    It is the river Spree that you can see on the photo. Berlin is a town with a lot of waterways.

Leave a Reply

