Soccer Fever

It is the time of the Soccer World Championship, and tomorrow the German team will play against Serbia. I must admit, I am a soccer fan, and I like to watch as many matches as possible.

I guess some of you now shake their heads and think “crazy woman” or something similar. Well, if you tell me that you a basefall fan and watch as many baseball matches as you can I might react in the same way. But that is not the point.

The Soccer World Championship gets the people together: Every restaurant and beer bar has its tv-set, and people leave their flats and come together to watch the matches, Greece against Nigeria, France against Mexico, Southafrica against Uruguay. I remember the times when it was not usual for every family to have a tv, and people met at other people’s homes to watch tv. It was a social event. Now it is like that again.

By the way, in Germany we call that “public viewing” – to watch the matches in public. Not everybody knows that “public viewing” means something very different in the English language!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Soccer Fever”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    Ulla, last week, on TV, we saw shots of the crowds in Berlin jubilantly watching the footie – I looked for you but couldn’t spot you 😦

    I too am a football fan but now, since moving to Wales, find Rugby more exciting to watch.

  2. Wendee says :

    We’re watching the World Cup, as well, and this season watched as much of the European football matches as we could (probably more than US basketball and baseball – so far – put together, if you can believe that!).

Leave a Reply

