The beginning of June – time for a review

It is the beginning of June. The first half of 2010 has almost gone. So for me it is time to do a review. Where do I stand and where do I want to go?

As things are at the moment I still enjoy my blogging activities – not only at this place here, but also at crabbysbeach, where I write a weekly column on classical music and try to accompany my squidoo lenses with blog posts once or twice a week. And yes, I reactivated my German photoblog and opened an additional blog on my zazzling activities. And here comes the big question: How do I write a blog which is focused on helping me to sell my products? I don’t have an answer to that question yet. The only thing I know is that I am far from being satisfied with this blog. I got a vague idea that I should write stories about me and my products. I will work on that the coming weeks.

Well, that’s blogging. Regarding writing squidoo lenses I am confronted with the problem that you’ve got to keep your pages fresh in order to get found by google. With something over 60 lenses that is not easy. At the moment I am more occupied with updating my “old” pages than with writing new ones. But that activity is fun, too, because it means exchanging photos, adding zazzle products, rewriting.

And then, there’s zazzle. I think that I have some pretty good products in my store – I select the best of my photographs out of the depths of my hard disk. But sales have been almost null, and not only I but a lot of other people are asking themselves: Does beauty sell? Do I create things which I would buy or do I create things which I would not buy but would be bought by other people? Or is it just the season with school ending and people saving money for their travels? And how does the lack of sales affect me? Sometimes my inner whinie is very strong, wanting me to pace my room moaning “nobody loves me – waahhh”. In spite of this I am not thinking of giving up my zazzle activities – it is too much fun sitting at my notebook and creating mugs, mousepads, cards, magnets and stickers with my photos on them.

You may ask how I get all those things done. I am juggling, yes. But I found out that writing down the things I did every day really helps a lot. There are days which are empty regarding these activities, and there are days when I concentrate on writing blog posts like today. But looking at what I did the last weeks shows me that I did get done a lot of things.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “The beginning of June – time for a review”

  1. Shelley Kuhn says :

    It can be a challenge to write good blog posts… just keep plugging away at it! I do… followiers starts growing and more and more people get exposure to your lenses and your store. With Zazzle I say keep creating, the more products you have out there the more chance for your sales to grow! Have a good day!

  2. Judy Adamson says :

    I’m asking myself the same question about what sells on Zazzle and I’ve just written a blog post about it.

  3. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla, you have a great first half. It is a challenge to keep up with the content demands required online. You might try cross promoting zazzle on this site. Your posts and photos always bring out such a warmth, so write a post and provide the link so readers can purchase the photo on products you have created. Marketing is hard work and does require consistent effort. Don’t take on too much but just keep at what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

