I am a Shop Owner now!

Yes, I am a shop owner now (sounds of trumpets, please). Umm, not really, of course. Not of a brick and mortar shop somewhere in Kreuzberg, but of a virtual shop somewhere in the wide world of Zazzle where I am offering some nice products with some very nice photo shots on it. (I would not dare to brag about them if I hadn’t got some very encouraging and motivating feedback on them)

She who owns a shop hasn’t only to create products, she also wants to sell them. That’s the difficult part, at least for me.

Creating products – that means selecting my best photos and deciding which would look good on a mug, a mousepad, a card or a sticker. I ask myself if I would buy the product myself, and if the answer is yes, I create it and put it up for sale.

For sale, yes, and here comes the difficult part. I have to promote it. I have to convince other people that they should buy it. (have to buy it!) This is somewhat difficult for a person who has been fighting to gain self-confidence for most of her life. I have been brought up with “One does not talk about herself,” or “modesty is good for a girl”.

It took years for me to believe other people when they complimented me on something I did. The internet played a big part to make me change my mind and to get confidence – my photos on Flickr, and most of all this blog here and the community around it – kudos to you, my readers!

But in spite of all that I still am not good in promoting myself. However, I keep on trying and learning. And so (sounds of trumpets again) I present to you my Squidoo page with a selection of my Zazzle products: First steps into the Zazzle World

Enjoy!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “I am a Shop Owner now!”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    Ho‘omaika‘i ‘ana Ulla– Congratulations on getting your shop going! I’ve been doing something similar recently with an additional ebook shop I’m setting up on Smashwords, and so I truly empathize with all the decisions which go into such an endeavor, not to mention the bursts of self-confidence you mention.

    And you’re so right, the selling and promoting of it is the hardest part. Though we know we must do more, we defer to waiting for our products to speak for themselves, hoping that others will sing their praises. I saw a #writechat tweet by Karl Bimhas earlier today which hit close to home: “The most painful rejection is utter silence. Anything other than that is a piece of cake.”

    However as one seller to another, I hope you get that wonderful silence of sales over and above the compliments! I can see how much of you is revealed in your shop, and it must feel wonderful to share your aloha as you are.

Leave a Reply

