I hate my to-do-lists!

If you follow the get things done principle you have to empty everything which is in your head on a piece of paper (or on the screen, if you are going digital). In my case this results in very long to-do-lists (do the dishes, empty trash can, write blog post, clean bath tub and so on and so forth).

Some say there’s nothing more fulfilling than crossing out the items you got done. Well, there’s nothing worse than looking at the items you still have to do, either. Do this, do that. Of course there are activities I like to do (writing blog posts, for one thing), but fact is I get those done pretty well. No problem with writing blog posts. But filing papers away or writing letters to my department of human resources is something I don’t enjoy doing. Writing those activities down on a to-do-list doesn’t help much.

On the other side I feel kind of proud when I finally get done those nasty tasks. No papers on my desktop and other spaces. No open problems waiting to be tended to. In such situations, after I did all the things I hated to do, I feel as if I could breathe more easily, and deeper. I feel good. I love to feel good.

So I decided to try something new (at least for me): I write down the result of the activity and not the activity itself. I want uncovered, empty spaces in my studio. I want a sink without dishes in it. I want a shiny bath tub.

I don’t have to-do-lists anymore – I have got-done-lists.

Does this make any sense to you? How are you dealing with your to-do-lists?

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “I hate my to-do-lists!”

  1. Alexandra says :

    An interesting approach, Ulla ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope it will work well for you.

    I guess I’m kind of old fashioned with my little notebook in which I write down the things I want to get done on a day-by- day basis. And indeed, I love the act of marking the items I actually did as done ๐Ÿ™‚ It works well for me.

    However, I only put work related things in my notebook. No space for household chores in there…

  2. Wendee says :

    What a great idea. I love the idea of shifting what you focus on! Thanks, Ulla!

Leave a Reply

